Visit the Blues Hall of Fame!

Shop the Blues Store

Join the Blues Foundation

Keeping the Blues Alive

Each year, The Blues Foundation presents the Keeping the Blues Alive (KBA) Awards to individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the Blues world. The Blues Foundation will present the 2017 KBA Awards during a recognition lunch Friday, February 3, 2017, at the Doubletree Hotel in downtown Memphis, Tennessee. The KBA ceremony will be part of the International Blues Challenge (IBC) weekend of events.  The 2017 IBC weekend schedule will be posted in the Fall of 2016.

Unlike the Blues Music Awards, the award recognizing the past year’s best in recordings and performance voted on by thousands of The Blues Foundation’s members, the KBAs are awarded to non-performers strictly on the basis of merit by a select panel of Blues professionals. Noted educator, author, journalist, and KBA Chairman Art Tipaldi notes “The KBA may be awarded for the recipient’s work in the past year but most often reflects a lifetime of work; we don’t view the recipient as the winner of a ‘best of the year’ category. Consistent with this philosophy, the committee generally refrains from awarding the KBA to an individual or organization more than once. Rather, we select a new deserving winner each year, except in rare cases when a significant period of time has elapsed since the first award.”

Affiliated organizations, past KBA recipients and members of The Blues Foundation’s Board of Directors are eligible to submit nominations.

The 2017 Keeping the Blues Alive Awards recipients are:

1.       Baltimore Blues Society
2.       Blues and Soul Records
3.       Kathy Bolmer
4.       Briggs Farm Blues Festival
5.       Kyle Deibler
6.       Greaseland Studios
7.       Highway 99 Blues Club
8.       Jay Miller
9.       Jacques Morgantini
10.   James Nagel
11.   Porretta Soul Festival
12.   Steve Salter
13.   Eddie Stout
14.   Suzanne Swanson
15.   WGLT radio
16.   Wolf Records
KBA Awards Search

Blues Music Fan